top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany F. M. Hector

midnight planning

Do you ever lay in bed at night dreaming and scheming? Making the perfect lists for the next day? Coaching yourself on how you can be a better person?


For some reason, I do. I do my best thinking and planning while I'm trying to fall asleep, or while I'm in the shower. Funny enough, neither of those places have a pad of paper or a pen. I keep saying I'm going to get one of those fancy


But I just haven't done it yet. Not that it would help me while I'm laying in bed and planning my future...


So, a few weeks ago, I was laying in bed. The house was quiet, and I was thinking about life. What I wanted to do with my own, how I wanted to give back, how I wanted to teach my kids to make a difference. I was also thinking about the huge list of things I need to get done... Because, mom life... amiright?

And in a moment, I felt a tug and pull at my heart. Our blog. We used to love writing and blogging. Up until our third child was born, we were very serious bloggers! And then we had another sweet baby boy, and we were suddenly outnumbered by kids. Looking back, I think it would have done us a world of good to continue to blog, but alas, we just didn't have any mental energy for that! Fast forward 4 years, and here we are with a new job, living in a new city and learning to enjoy this adventure and I thought... a blog. A place to share things that are important to us, a place to share ideas, our favorite travel places, hikes, recipes, hacks, deals... And I decided that yes! We were going to do it!


So, here we are! We are The Hectors, or the strawberry family. <3 Let's do something fun and write a little biography about us! Hehe....


As a family, we are from Turlock, CA but we are currently living up in Redding. We absolutely live to travel and explore the world. Our motto is memories over stuff. We love to cook together, play Clue, read books, have tea time, swim, golf and travel. We have had the best adventures together, and have plans for so many more! Now let's go deeper!


After many good years working in the private sector, Ben decided to take his expertise and bring it to the electric utility world. He has really enjoyed learning a new field and we are loving his new schedule! Some of his favorite things are cheese + wine, cycling, reading and traveling.


Tiffany loves to dabble in lots of things, but she loves to cook, bake, invent new recipes and DIYs, take lots of pictures, help new moms adjust to their new role and let them know they are not alone, share tips on how to live toxin-free, sew cute things and travel. And she survives on coffee, mimosas, wine, and good food.

Lilyana, our little princess, is eight! She is such a sweetheart, and cares so much about those hurting and in need. She loves to travel and enjoys learning about new cultures. She decided to challenge herself and is currently learning to speak French, Chinese, and Spanish. She loves ballet, and enjoys designing clothes and shoes. She's crazy about her golf clubs and has so much fun on the course. When she grows up, she wants to rock her babies, teach girls to dance, and design shoes.


Tristan is our gentle giant, larger than life at six years old. My sweet boy has a big, kind heart. He LOVES to play golf and ride his bike (although he's in need of a new one... he's still riding his 16" Trek bike, but he needs a 24" bike... 😬 accepting donations for that... 😂) He is quite the little artist and draws up a storm. When he grows up he wants to be a diver and rescue humpback whales. He keeps us laughing with his silly antics and can't play chess too many times in one day.


Fabian is our deep thinker and over achiever four year old. He wants to be our forever baby, but then he will spontaneously weep because he doesn't know everything about being an astronaut and he *needs* to for his upcoming training. 😂 He is obsessed with all things space, watches nearly every rocket launch, and fully intends to be the youngest person in space! He loves to swim, build Legos, play golf, learn French over tea time, and eat eggs.


I am so glad you are here, reading along and doing life with us on this blog. Be sure to subscribe to our blog so you can follow along with our crazy adventures!! First up is our trip to SCOTLAND!!! We are at the airport and oh-so-excited about all of the things we're going to see and eat!!


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page