top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany F. M. Hector

spring is blooming

Spring is coming into bloom here in the south of France, and it is so beautiful. On our way back from fencing class, the boys were practically jumping over each other to get a view of the vibrant purple flowers on the tree. It was so sweet when they were excitedly telling me to look so I didn’t miss the scene.



Spring and summer are my favorite seasons, because to me, they are visibly full of joy, life, and of good things to come. As the trees begin to bud with new leaves, it’s almost as if the flowers suddenly appear overnight, welcoming longer and warmer days filled with sunshine that carries a contagious joy to thousands of people.


I do love the winter holidays, but the biting cold and the short days begin to wear on my emotions and my mental health. The days are short, but the season is long. I’ve learned a few tricks throughout the years to keep me feeling the winter blues, although some days are definitely harder than others.



Speaking to many women over the years, I know I am not alone, which gives me a feeling of connection and comradery. Some friends of mine and I like to share activities or special recipes that keep us feeling like we can get through another winter day as we look forward to the coming of longer days, and when daylight savings happens (our clocks change this weekend!) it feels like we are finally making it to the finish line!




If you are struggling to make it through these last few weeks of cold, just know that you are not alone. I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite activities to keep us in a good mindset and to maintain and encourage positivity:


  • Have afternoon tea. It doesn’t have to be fancy. Here at our furnished rental, we don’t have a beautiful tea set, so we have been using our mugs. If you feel like it would help your mental health, bake some quick cookies around lunch time (these gluten free almond flour cookies are my favorite) and enjoy them during your 2:00 tea.

  • Get a weekly bouquet of flowers, or find flowers that will stay beautiful for two weeks. Bringing flowers or greenery from the outdoors can help decrease feelings of anxiety and the winter blues. Studies have shown that fresh flowers can boost energy and happiness, so having a fresh bouquet became incredibly important to me when I was suffering from PPD. Getting a new bouquet was exciting and it gave me something to look forward to. My husband would often stop by the store and pick out something that he knew I would enjoy, and the gentle loving surprise was a balm to my weary soul. Ever since then, I have made it a point to have a fresh vase of flowers at least twice a month. I’ll do another blog post on how to keep your flowers fresher for longer.


  • Get a set of watercolor or acrylic paint. Paint therapy is some of the best ways I have helped reset my brain and work through depression or anxiety. You don’t have to be a Monet, and don’t think you have to create a masterpiece! The simple act of brushstrokes stimulates the creative side of your brain helping you lean into feelings of…. I love to have paint days with my kids, especially during long spells of rain or cold, windy days. It instantly improves everyone’s mood.


  • Plan a date with friends. Nothing big, because when you are struggling with mental overwhelm, you don’t want to make it worse. Invite your mama friends over with their littles, plan for the kiddos to watch a movie and brew a big pot of coffee. Pull out some cinnamon and whipped cream to make “fluffy” coffee and let your hearts connect.


  • Read poetry! Even if you don’t think you love poetry, pull out some Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, some Emily Dickenson! Light a candle (I love to use unscented beeswax candles so I’m not exposing myself to harmful fragrances* that will harm my endocrine system…which will lead to more hormonal/chemical imbalances and lead to deeper depressions), turn on some classical music, or some light jazz, and let the rhythm of the poetic words sing to your soul.

  • Journal. I know, I know. You’ve probably heard this a lot. And trust me on this one, because I have never been an avid journaler. However, one habit that I implemented long before I had children was to jot down at least one thing that I was thankful for each morning. Before my feet touched the ground, I grabbed my notebook and wrote down something I was thankful for. Another piece I added to my daily entries, I devoured the Psalms. And I would look for verses that reminded me that God was always with me. No matter what, I was never alone.


  • Words of affirmation. This was huge in helping me retrain my brain during my experience with PPD. I’ve written about it before, and I think I’ll do another post that goes into more detail, but choose ONE positive phrase that you want to either improve or change about yourself.

(“I am joyful.” “I see good things in each day.” “I am a kind/gentle mother.” I attract positivity to myself.” etc…) But choose ONE. This is so important. And spend 30 days speaking these words over yourself. Try to spend 5 minutes sitting in a quiet spot and bathe yourself in these life giving words. Throughout the day, repeat them to yourself. Post sticky notes throughout your house, so you are constantly seeing them.


  • Sit outside for ten minutes when it’s sunny! Just ten minutes of sunshine can boost your vitamin d levels and help boost your mood! Even if it’s a little chilly, wrap yourself up in your favorite blanket, grab a hot cup of something tasty, and sit and let the sun do its magic.



I hope that some of these things I’ve learned along the way inspire you, encourage you, and help you in your own journey! Spring is coming, and you are not alone!





*There are natural ways to fill your home and senses with beautiful scents, such as essential oils. Just be sure they are REAL and are fragrance-free.












36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page